Students Annotating with DIIGO

http://photosynth.net/embed.aspx?cid=f5da5b64-099a-401d-b3a6-ab305400d5b8&delayLoad=true&slideShowPlaying=false

Students using Laptops + Diigo software to annotate an eText and share…

Today I assigned a reading of Young Goodman Brown to my 11th grade honors students in preparation for the Scarlet Letter.  I assigned the piece using an etext, diigo, and classroom laptops.  Within groups on Diigo, I shared the link with students.  I had already left some suggestion “sticky notes” and highlighted areas on the text.  Next, I had students open the text, run their diigolets, and add their own notes and highlights.  I taught students how to share notes to the whole group instead of keeping them private, and how to notate while reading.  Finally, students went back through the text and wrote comments on each others’ notes- initiating a class wide dialogue on the text.  

Leave a comment